President Obama awards medals to literary critics, historians, scholars, architects, filmmakers, and radio hosts

NEH 2013 medal recipientsOn Monday, July 28th, President Barack Obama awarded ten winners of the 2013 National Humanities Medals.  These awards are given to outstanding individuals for their achievements in history, cultural studies, filmmaking, cultural commentary, and more. Watch the White House ceremony here!

The medalists are: literary critic M.H. Abrams; historians David Brion Davis, Darlene Clark Hine, and Anne Firor Scott; East Asian scholar William Theodore de Bary; architect Johnpaul Jones; filmmaker Stanley Nelson; radio hosts Diane Rehm and Krista Tippett; and the historical organization the American Antiquarian Society.  Read more on the National Endowment for the Humanities website.

Leave a Reply

Fill out the info below to sign up for our E-Newsletter.